Site icon

Rational Unified Process RUP, Phases of RUP, inception, elaboration, construction, transition, Software Engineering

Let’s discuss Rational Unified Process in Software Engineering with the phases of RUP. There are four main phases of RUP;

  1. inception
  2. elaboration
  3. construction
  4. transition

What is the Rational Unified Process?

Rational Unified Process is also called RUP. RUP is a process for software development. The inventor of RUP is Rational Software Corporation.

RUP involves 4 phases;

What is the inception phase?

Inception phase involves the following activities;

What is the elaboration phase?

In the elaboration phase, we refine the requirements

It ensures the followings for the construction phase;

What is the Construction phase?

What is the Transition phase?

What are the six best practices of rational unified process?

  1. Manage requirements.
  2. Develop iteratively.
  3. Model visually.
  4. Continuously verify quality.
  5. Use component architectures.
  6. Manage change.

Is Rational Unified Process Agile methodology?
Agile Unified Process (AUP) is considered as a simplified version of the Rational Unified Process (RUP.

Test Your Understandings

1.Product release is related to ?




(D) Transition

Answer - Click Here:

2. Match the columns

Column A Column  B Answer
1.Inception A. Develop the Version 1 with
Answer - Click Here:
2.Elaboration  B. Guidelines for development  2 with 
Answer - Click Here:
3.Construction  C. System modifications  3 with 
Answer - Click Here:
4.Transition D. collects the initial basic requirements   4 with 
Answer - Click Here:


Exit mobile version