Five State Process Model in operating systems

What is the five state process model?

This process model contains five states that are involved in the life cycle of a process.

  • New
  • Ready
  • Running
  • Blocked / Waiting
  • Exit


When a  new process is created, then this new process is in the new state.

A process in the new state tries its best to load into the RAM.


All those processes that are loaded on RAM and waiting for CPU can be considered in a ready state.

After a new state, a process moves from new to ready state. When the process is in the ready state, it means that it is loaded into the main memory (RAM) and the process is ready for further execution. In the ready state, the process needs to wait for the Processor, when the process response backs the process, then the process moves further for execution by the processor. It is interesting to know that in a multi-programming environment, many processes can stay in the ready state.


All processes that are running on the CPU are in running state.

Running state shows that the process in running state is coming from a new state and ready state.

If the process is running in its critical section, then other processes need to wait in the Ready state.


All processes that leave the CPU and move to the waiting state are in the blocked state. When CPU becomes free, processes from the blocked state again move to the ready state, and from ready to Running state.

Exit / Terminated:

A process that is terminated from CPU and RAM is in the exit state.

Five state process model diagram

Let’s see the Five state process model diagram.

operating system by silberschatz

Where do schedulers fit in the 5-state process model?

The schedule and dispatcher are in the 5-state process model after ready and before running state.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is the primary difference between the two state process model and the five state?

In two state process model, there are only two states ready and running but in 5 state process model, there are 5 states new, ready, running, blocked, and exit.

In the five-state process model; the following represents a valid state transition….?

A). New -> Blocked

B). New- Running

C). Running ->Blocked

D). All of these

Answer: C

Download Slides (Powerpoint Presentation) and PDF of Process Model

  1. Download Two states, Five state and 7 state process model Slides Presentation
  2. Download Two states, Five states and 7 state process model PDF File

Important Question of 5 state process model

Where we save the states of the process?

PCB is used to save the states of the processes.

You must also see the 7 States of process Model.

You must know the 7 state diagram in os | queuing diagram for the seven-state process model | five state process model in operating system ppt | implementation of the process in os | explain the different process states.

Add a Comment