NDA full form in politics of India

NDA stands for National Democratic Alliance in India.

National Democratic Alliance (NDA):

National Democratic Alliance in India is one of the giant coalitions of political parties in India. This alliance is led by a political party right-wing named “Bharatiya Janta Party”. This party was founded in 1998 but within a short period it got its roots deep in politics and now it is controlling 18 Indian States, the Indian Government, and a Union Territories. Many renowned personalities serve this alliance as its prime minister and deputy prime ministers such as Atal Bihari Vajpayee, L.K Advani, Amit Shah, and Narendra Modi.

Political Parties in National Democratic Alliance (NDA)


  • Janta Dal (United).
  • Biju Janta Dal.
  • Lok Janshakti Party.
  • Shiv Sena.
  • All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

Some parties withdraw their support with time, but NDA remains a party in power.


Purpose and History of National Democratic Alliance:


The main objective and aim of the NDA were to bring the groups under one roof who was opposed to the Indian National Congress. The major parties who led NDA BJP involved several other regional parties such as Samata, AIADMK, and Shiv Sena. In 2019 Shiv Sena drifted away from NDA to enter another party Maha Vikas Aghadi alongside congress and the NCP. In 2003 another party Samata also left the NDA after the establishment of the Janta Dal. Shiv Sena was the only member of the NDA that supported the BJP’s Hindutva doctrine.

After the elections, Atal Bhari Bajpayee manages to make himself selected as a prime minister with the help of the Telugu Desam party by securing a narrow majority in the voting system. Despite this struggle, the administration fell within a year due to the back steps of AIADMK. In the 1999 elections, the NDA won again with a great margin as they have an inclusion of other regional parties. Vajpayee was elected as prime minister this time he remained in office for full five years.


In 2004 the NDA called for elections and it was six months before the scheduled time. NDA used the slogan “India Shining” to give an impact that the government of NDA is as being reliable for the rapid advancement in economic development. NDA won only 86 seats and was defeated by Lok Sabha who won 222 seats. As a result, Manmohan Singh succeeded over Atal Bihari Vajpayee and secured the position of prime minister.

Troubles of National Democratic Alliance:

NDA was deserted in the state of Andhra Pradesh by a powerful political force, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 2018. The Shiv Sena of Maharashtra was the nearest ideologically supporter of the BJP. In 2019 Shiv Sena also sent a goodbye note to BJP and separated the path. In the same year in September, Modi’s party also lost its long-time advocate the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) from Punjab. The NDA also suffered a setback because of the withdrawal of a small regional member, the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).


NDA lose alliance in many states and the party has not any valuable representation in Andhra Pardesh this thing was proved by TDP when it part its ways with the NDA. The BJP and SAD were secondary allies in Punjab and if both of them do not patch things up by the next election Modi’s party has to suffer. If we talk about Maharashtra, the situation is different there because the BJP is facing a growing popularity and development day by day.


BJP, a considerable party of NDA, will lose government presence in five states if other parties part with the alliance. These five states are Nagaland, Sikkim, Meghalaya, Mizoram, and Bihar which is one of the big and densely populated states.


The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is in a contradictory position as it is popular and continuously growing on a national level but constantly losing its popularity and alliance with other parties on the state level. But the power it gained on the national level proved its pillar of dominance and rule. If the alliance, continues to grow then the power may remain the same on a national level.

Full form

  1. NDA full form in politics of India
  2. BJP full form in politics of India
  3. TMC full form in politics of India